YSOTY 2008 Winner


POSSIBLY Great Britain’s sailing stars of the future, the Peters siblings follow in the footsteps of previous Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year winners, Olympic Gold Medallist Ben Ainslie and transatlantic solo yachtswoman Dame Ellen MacArthur.

The winners were announced today at the London Boat Show, and presented by Alex Thomson, the round the world racing yachtsman and Hugo Boss skipper.

Winning the Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year title is recognition of James and Frances Peters fantastic 2008 season. They were crowned joint RYA regional winners for the South; and both achieved gold medals at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF Worlds Championship in Denmark, sailing separate 29ers in the mens and womens classes with their crews Ed Fitzgerald and Claire Lasko. They were instrumental in helping Britain win the Volvo Trophy for best nation with a medal haul of two golds and one bronze at the event. James and his crew also won the European Championship.

Elliot Hanson, the season’s World Champion, National Champion, Inland Champion and Winner of the Nationwide Travellers series in the Topper Class. Alex Hovden, who overcame adversity to make it into the Challenger transition squad for possible selection to the 2012 Paralympic Squad.

The public made nominations for the Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year, and the vote for the overall winner was by members of the Yachting Journalists Association.

In addition to presenting James and Frances Peters with their Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year award, Alex Thomson also presented the RYA Regional Winners with their awards:

Yorkshire and Humberside: Dean Crangle
Northern Ireland: Oliver Loughead
North West: Elliot Hanson
East: Charlotte Sissons
South: Frances and James Peters (Joint Winners)
Wales: Bleddyn Mon and Tom Humphries (Joint Winners)
North East: Luke McGillScotland: Lorenzo Chiavarini
West Midlands: Adam ParryEast Midlands: Mathew Brown
South East: Jack DalySouth West: Will Pepworth
Thames Valley: Alex Hovden