The  2008 Olympic Sailing gold medallists have been collectively named Yachtsman of the Year, earning one of the highest accolades in sailing.

The gold medallists, Ben Ainslie CBE (Finn class), Iain Percy OBE along with the three blondes in a boat, Sarah Ayton OBE, Sarah Webb OBE and Pippa Wilson MBE (Yngling class), and their gold medal winning Olympic sailing  teammates s Paul Goodison MBE (Laser class), and Andrew Simpson MBE (Star class), scored another success by becoming joint winners of the prestigious Raymarine / YJA Yachtsman of the Year title.

Between them, they won four gold medals in Beijing, dominating their opponents and helping gain the highest results seen for Great Britain in yachting history.  Their Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year title recognises their sporting excellence and tremendous achievements.  They now join many of the greatest achievers in British yachting circles who have won the award over the past five decades.

Andrew Simpson collected the impressive trophy from Lady Pippa Blake during a gala luncheon in the historic Painted Hall at the Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich during the London Boat Show.

At the same occasion the first special award amde by the YJA, the Raymarine Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to YJA member Dag Pike.